Scenario of the Space

Dear Friend,

After visiting Shanghai, I was on my way to the airport. I was half an hour on the highway and all of a sudden passing by a usual 3 stories shopping mall, a very typical one viewing from the outside. However, it seems to be an interesting site as I saw a lot of people visiting this place, groups of family, teenagers and couples. I assumed they all came from the city center.

When I looked at the shopping mall carefully, there were lots of people gathering in front of the big window glass. I was wondering what they are gazing at and to resolve my curiosity I then got out the taxi and slowly walked towards the gigantic front door of the mall.

Everywhere seems normal. Stores here are selling the same old thing, clothing, food and accessories. I then approach the crowds and what I saw in front of me was a clear view of the airplane runways.

The shopping mall is really catchy due to the use of contrasting colours bright warms colours of red, orange and yellow verses cool colours of green surround. Besides, the idea of having a mall as a stop on the highway seems very americanized. Seemingly, traditional Chinese culture is now vaguely influenced by Western culture.

Your Friend

Leave a comment